two under two

8 Feb

Yesterday was a mom first for me. I knew this day would come I just didn’t think it would come so soon. My husband had a business trip and I was left to manage my 18 month old and 5 week old all by myself. Both are very demanding and neither one seems to notice the other when it comes to my hands being full. You can’t blame the 5 week old and I most certainly don’t blame the 18 month old either, especially since I can kinda reason with him.

It was wake up time that I was dreading. The morning routine is a cluster-*bleep already but take out a parent and you got a real situation on your hands. Did I mention the dog would need to be walked….Did I mention it is winter and snow and slippery ice are everywhere?

Step one 1.

The baby and I get our act together first. I get him changed and fed, burped and teeth brush (that one for me) in 30 minutes.

Step two 2.

Prep the older one’s gourmet breakfast of microwave pancakes and hashbrown before I go up and get him.

Step three 3.

Listen for the signal…a whiney come get me kinda cry from the older ones room. CHECK

Step four 4.

Secure baby in a good spot away from animals and incoming big brother. CHECK

Step 5.

Quick change the older one, put him in high chair turn on Nick Jr. (Yo Gabba Gabba – Damn it! How parents don’t think this is a kiddie Clockwork Orange is beyond me) ….I didn’t want to resort to TV first thing in the morning but lets face it I am out numbered and it is going to be a long day or survival.

>> fast forward to late afternoon a bowl of popcorn and 2 pixar movies later and Dad is on his way home from the airport. Every toy possible is out and dumped on the floor. The baby went through a total of 6 outfits. To this day I still can’t figure out how he pees all over himself when I change his diaper without me seeing it. Everyone single one of us spells like pee…this I have learned it just part of living with little boys…the smell of pee is constant. My hair if kinda this deformed frizz ball, I still have my PJ’s on and I think I forgot to eat but I really can’t be sure.

I made it. I am officially a mom of two under two!

Leave a Reply

